September 12, 1981

Current Population

The City of Navarro was Incorporated September 12, 1981, with a council which consisted of one Mayor, five Alderman, and a City Marshall. Installation of Officers were Mayor Marilyn Mitchell and Alderman A.H. Asby, John F. Henderson, Paul Mitchell, James B. Howell, and Lynn Bottoms,  Marshall.

On Wednesday July 1, 1981, the citizens of Navarro held a town meeting at the Hopewell Baptist Church of Navarro to discuss the area in which to incorporate and maps were drawn. The citizens were informed that in order to incorporate they must have 200 people in a 2 square mile area.

At one time the City of Navarro had a Store owned by Bill and Bettie Crocker and a Post Office ran by Estelle Montgomery. We had a school many years ago and our Baseball/Softball field was so popular at one time.

The Hopewell Baptist Church (which is still in existence) has been here for over one hundred years along with our Fire Department. Our Fire Department was operated by Terry Scruggs who was our Fire Chief around that time.

The City of Navarro now has a population of 226. The current City Council consists of Mayor Vickie Farmer, and Alderman: Terry Scruggs, Shawn Capehart, Susanne Capehart, and Jeff Farmer. Constable for our precinct is Bobby Rachel and our Fire Chief is John Wossum.

The City Hall is located at 222 S. Harvard Avenue Corsicana, Texas 75109 located in the City of Navarro.

The City of Navarro is zoned Residential, and permits are required for moving in Mobile Homes, Construction of homes and any additions to the property. There are numerous other ordinances and city codes that we have included on this website. View Code of Ordinances.

Hopewell Baptist Church Historic Marker
Hopewell Baptist Church Historic Marker
Old Navarro Fire Truck